Herbert Art Gallery and Museum
Search the collections
Box back style dolls house made for Fanny Mosse and found at Paybody Hospital. The house has a note pinned to the door stating that it was made in Portsmouth Dockyard for Fanny Mosse (born 1813). She married Charles Bedford in 1844 in Southampton and they later lived at The Elms, Allesley. Charles died in 1879 and Fanny moved away, taking the dolls house. The Elms later became Paybody Hospital and the dolls house reappeared there in the 1950s. It was probably donated there by the Bedford family when the premises became a childrens' hospital.